Cooking For Engineers Forum Index Cooking For Engineers
Analytical cooking discussed.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Ovens that vent hot air
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cooking For Engineers Forum Index -> Tools, Equipment, and Gadgets
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KitchenBarbarian

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:45 pm    Post subject: Ovens that vent hot air Reply with quote

I've been cooking for 45 years and have never had this problem before, but apparently new stove designs now often vent hot air directly into the kitchen in various really unpleasant ways. At first I thought it was just cheap stoves (like the one I got stuck with in my apartment after the old one sparked out in a really spectacular fashion), but apparently even some really expensive stoves are doing this now.

Some vent through the backsplash, some vent directly behind the oven door handle, and some (like mine) vent directly through an open hole under a back burner. The result for me has been that I cannot cook on that back burner if the oven is on because it will burn whatever I'm trying to cook, and it isn't safe to touch that burner even when it's off if the stove is on because you WILL be burned.

Not only do I find this unsafe, it is causing huge problems for me when baking. Anything over 375F, maybe 400F tops if I'm lucky, and instead of coming to temp and shutting the lower element off, the oven rollercoasters all over the map. I get temperature swings of +/- 50F. I've had to move my pizza stone up a notch because that element being constantly on was superheating the stone, so the crust would burn, but the air temp would never come up to temp so the toppings wouldn't be cooked yet.