Cooking For Engineers Forum Index Cooking For Engineers
Analytical cooking discussed.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help Requested Choosing Quality Cookware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cooking For Engineers Forum Index -> Tools, Equipment, and Gadgets
View previous topic :: View next topic  
datavortex

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Help Requested Choosing Quality Cookware Reply with quote

Greetings, engineers!

This is my first post here, and is perhaps a bit verbose. I hope you will forgive this, I am excited and have been researching the issues within for several days.

I am a novice home cook who has been trying to increase my proficiency and range of techniques for about a year. I have decided it is time to replace my wildly mistreated, gouged, pitted and discolored store brand teflon coated anodized aluminum cookware. I want to get a versatile set of fry pans, sauce pans, and perhaps a wok/chef pan that will last for my lifetime, and preferably longer. The second most important consideration is ease of cleanup and overall difficulty of care. No matter what I purchase (or the manufacturer's recommendation), I do not intend to use a dishwasher, steel wool, or harsh abrasives with any of this cookware.

Using resources on this site and others I have done a lot of research into materials and preferences of those more experience than myself. While I initially was leaning toward an 100% anodized aluminum solution (Calphalon style) for its non-stick properties, I have been convinced that stainless steel is a better surface to actually come into contact with the food. I am still concerned with the difficulty of cleaning stainless steel however.